Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
ღ♥  Mon aire de repos  ღ♥
13 novembre 2006

The color of water, James McBride

Le lundi 13 novembre 2006

Writing activity

The color of water, James McBride

Topic: Imagine the conversation Richie had with his mother after the   incident with Rev. Owens.

Richie came home, hangdog sheepish. His mother, who was sitting with nine of his siblings in the kitchen, looked at her son.

-         You look under the weather…

-         Yes, answered Richie, sullen.

-         Didn't your Sunday School course occur well? his mother asked.

-         Oh Mommy… I hate Rev. Owens! I hate this life of lies! … Oh, if only…

-         Explain to me.

-         The Bible… began Richie.

-         Do not criticize a holy book! his mother stopped him immediately.

-         No, of course. But I don’t understand. I feel that everybody is lying to me, that one doesn’t tell me the truth. It isn’t normal! Religion should be something of confidence, something sure, and finally, I’m only more disturbed by that. Please understand me.

-         Who is lying to you?

-         Everybody, Rev. Owens, God…

-         God?!? his mother repeated without understanding.

-         Yes, continued Richie. Where is the justice in our world? “Love you to them ones the others”, “God loves everybody, for him, there is no difference of color of skin”… Blablabla… Nonsense! Oh, why do we have a so incoherent religion?

-         Richie…

-         Please mommy, listen. Christianity is a strange religion. It is the only one in which men seek to represent Christ. You follow me?

-         Yes, but…

-         “Iconography only for Christians”… What an honor! Right? And what color is Christ?

-         Please, we have already spoken about that.

-         We spoke about the color of God’s spirit… But Jesus… Look…

He took in his bag the picture of Jesus and carried on with his preoccupation:

-         Jesus is, or was, I don’t know, white… Like you… Jesus was white! White! Where is equality? Why was he not black? Are black inferior? They don’t deserve God with their image?

-         I forbid to you to say that! she irritated.

-         Do not irritate you. What do you think of what I said to you?

-          Jesus is all colors.

-         Rev Owens has already told me that! But, if it was right, why white? He ain’t white, He ain’t black, they should make Him grey!

-         Don’t say silly things…

-         I was thinking you know… Mommy…

-         Yes?

-         Is your religion so incoherent?

-         Let us not speak about that want you, she answered with tears with her eyes.

-         Moslems refuse to paint God.

-         …And they are quite right… And you are not wrong. I find unjust that everybody seeks to impose an image of Christ, each one should be free of mind. It is encouraging segregation; people who have Christ with him image will seem hero.

-         I believe in God, but I don’t want to impose a vision, I don’t want painters to decide for me if Jesus must be white or black. I will not go to the Sunday School any more.


BILAN: 15,5...

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
H
I would like to thank the author for this marvelous efforts .I appreciate your efforts in preparing this post. I really like your blog articles.<br /> college thesis writing service
D
I have been visiting various blogs for my dissertation thesis assignment research. I have found your blog to be quite useful. Keep updating your blog with valuable information... Regards
Publicité
ღ♥  Mon aire de repos  ღ♥
Archives
Publicité